Amfibian - 01-30-1999


Higher Ground
Winooski, VT

discs: 2
recording type: DSBD
shn: yes; book/page: 1/43
quality rating: A

[disc 1] (67:49)
set 1:
1. Elevate Me Later (5:26)
2. Olivia's Pool (2:54)
3. Way I Feel (5:28)
4. Long Black Veil > (3:57)
5. Bug (11:11)
6. Evil Twin (5:42)
7. Bus on By (8:37)
8. Heavy Things (18:12)
9. Brian & Robert (2:51)
10. I've Got a Feeling (3:26)

[disc 2] (65:38)
set 2:
1. Where Its At (0:32)
2. Everybody Knows This is Nowhere (2:45)
3. Demon Above (5:01)
4. Water In The Sky (2:03)
5. 40,000 Headmen (10:14)
6. Dirt (3:29)
7. San Tropez (4:03)
8. Twist (6:34)
9. Wouldn't Miss (4:29)
10. Not Yet (3:49)
11. Birthday Boy (4:28)
12. Farmhouse (14:08)
13. I Had Me a Girl (3:57)

[disc 3] (23:11)
1. intro / drums (4:08)
2. Where Its At (7:32)
3. Waste (4:31)
4. I Had Me a Girl (2:30)
5. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere (4:28)

NOTE: disc 3 is only 23 minutes long, and was included for filler on other discs.

The Band: Tom Marshall - Keyboard, Vocals Matt Kohut - Bass, Vocals Scott Metzger - Guitar, Vocals Andrew Southern - Guitar, Vocals Peter Cottone - Drums JP Wasicko - Percussion

Amfibian is Tom Marshall's band -- Tom Marshall as you may know is the cowriter of many Phish songs. Thus, Amfibian plays many of these familiar tunes, but is not a Phish cover band by any means. They have some of their own original songs that they write as a band, as well as some songs that individual members have brought to the band. They also cover a wide variety of other bands including Tom Waits, Ween, The Beatles, Morphine and many more.

The covers: Elevate Me Later is a Pavement cover, Way I Feel is a Trey Anastasio cover, Long Black Veil is a Band cover, Evil Twin is a Hub Moore cover, I've Got a Feeling is a Beatles cover, Where Its At is a Beck cover, Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere is a Neil Young cover, 40,000 Headmen is a Traffic cover, San Tropez is a Pink Floyd cover, Birthday Boy is a Ween cover, and I Had Me a Girl is a Tom Waits cover.

Note: Where Its At has an abrupt start, Everybody Knows in the soundcheck has a glitch at 0:37.

Converted and Uploaded by Rich Rothenberg and Peter Hedeman Tracking, Cover Artwork, and Info File by Mike Wren

view the setlist on

back to the cd list